Taming of the Shrew

by devinking

Petruchio

…Good Lord, how bright and goodly shines the moon?

Kate

The moon? The sun. It is not moonlight now.

Petruchio

I say it is the moon that shines so bright.

Kate

I know it is the sun that shines so bright.

Hortension

Say as he says or we shall never go.

Kate

Forward, I pray, since we have come so far,

And be it moon or sun or what you please.

An if you please to call it a rush candle,

Henceforth I vow it shall be so for me.

Petruchio

I say it is the moon.

Kate

I know it is the moon.

Petruchio

Nay, then you lie. It is the blessèd sun.

Kate

Then God be blessed, it is the blessèd sun,

But sun it is not when you say it is not,

And the moon changes even as your mind.

What you will have it named, even that it is,

And so it shall be for Katherine.

IV.5, 2-22

