Julius Caesar

by devinking

Brutus

No, Cassius, for the eye sees not itself

But by reflection, by some other things.

Cassius

‘Tis just;

And it is very much lamented Brutus,

That you have no such mirrors as will turn

Your hidden worthiness into your eye,

That you might see your shadow. I have heard

Where many of the best respect in Rome–

Except immortal Caesar–speaking of Brutus,

And groaning underneath this age’s yoke,

Have wished that noble Brutus had his eyes.

Brutus

Into what dangers would you lead me, Cassius,

That you would have me seek into myself

For that which is not in me?

Cassius

Therefor good Brutus, be prepared to hear.

And since you know you cannot see yourself

So well as by reflection, I , your glass,

Will modestly discover to yourself

That of yourself which you yet know not of.

I.ii. 54-72

